WBC Resumes This Weekend After Aon U19 Nationals Wrap Up In Auckland

WBC Resumes This Weekend After Aon U19 Nationals Wrap Up In Auckland
After a one week hiatus due to the Aon Under 19 National Championships the 2018 Women’s Basketball Championship (WBC) resumes this weekend.

A number of WBC players performed with great distinction at the U 19 Championships highlighted by the performance of the Waikato team, many of who play for the unbeaten Waikato Wizards team.

Charlisse Leger-Walker (36 points, 10 rebounds and 9 assists in the final) was named Tournament MVP as Waikato retained the U19 title at North Shore Events Centre on Tuesday with a convincing 81-54 win against North Harbour.

Leger-Walker was ably assisted in the title run by the likes of Riva Walker-Pitman, Koha Lewis, Ella Bradley and Kasee Leef who will all suit up this Saturday for the unbeaten Wizards when they entertain Otago Gold Rush.

Tayla Dalton (17 points) top scored for Harbour in the Grand-Final loss to Waikato and she will be travelling with the Breeze team for their double-header road trip. On Saturday they will face the Power Chill Waikato Country Cannons and on Sunday head further south to face Taranaki Thunder.

Isabelle Cook, Rosalia Sami, Simone Cook and Katie Jones helped Taranaki to fourth place at the U19 Nationals and will also be on duty for the Thunder on Sunday.

The fourth game of the round will see Tauranga City Coasters entertain Auckland Dream and both teams had players on provincial duty at the Aon Nationals.

Briarley Rogers and Kaitlyn Morrell, will be looking to help Tauranga City Coasters to their first win of the season and opposition Auckland Dream boast Sharne Pupuke-Robati and Shauna Povey in their lineup.

WBC Standings

5-0 Waikato Wizards
3-2 Power Chill Waikato Country Cannons, Auckland Dream, Alloyfold Canterbury Wildcats
2-2 Otago Gold Rush
1-2 Taranaki Thunder
1-3 Harbour Breeze
0-5 Tauranga City Coasters

WBC players selected in the Aon Under 19 Tournament Team:

Ella Bradley (Waikato/Waikato Wizards)
Isabelle Cook (Taranaki/Taranaki Thunder)
Tayla Dalton (Harbour/Harbour Breeze)
Lauryn Hippolite (Canterbury/Alloyfold Canterbury Wildcats)
Sharne Pupuke-Robati (Auckland Counties/Auckland Dream)
Charlisse Leger-Walker (Waikato/Waikato Wizards) – Tournament MVP

The full draw is available here

For everything WBC, follow the @BasketballNZ Facebook, Instagram Twitter and accounts. Hashtag #NZWBC.

Follow the FIBA Livestats of the WBC on click here

Watch the livestream coverage of the WBC on @BasketballNZ Facebook and www.BasketballTV.Kiwi

For more information on the teams, draws, results and more go to www.nzwbc.basketball 

Want to get involved in the game? Contact your local association via www.thehuddle.co.nz